God Cares About My Feelings – 4 Week Series

A four-week series that explores some of the big feelings kids experience and reminds them that God cares about them and whatever they’re feeling.


This four-week series explores some of the big feelings kids experience like sadness, insecurity, shame, and feeling valued while also teaching kids about some of the prophets of the Old Testament. Each lesson assures kids that God created their feelings for a reason and helps them understand that God wants them to take every feeling to Him.

Each lesson utilizes the creative, interactive teaching method of inviting kids to illustrate the story while it is being taught and includes a prayer response time as well as multiple games, activities, and/or crafts to reinforce the lesson.

Series Main Idea: God cares about my feelings.

Memory Verse: “Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.” 1 Peter 5:7 (NLT)

Week 1: God cares when I feel sad. – This lesson helps kids learn that God is with them in the middle of their sadness. Kids will learn about when Elijah Flees to Mt. Horeb in 1 Kings 19 and read Psalm 42:3-5 and Psalm 56:8. See a preview of week 1 here.

Week 2: Because God loves me, I feel secure. – This lesson shows kids that God is the potter and we are like clay being formed into His image. Our security is based on God’s love for us. Kids will learn about Jeremiah visiting a potter’s house (Jeremiah 1:1-18 and Jeremiah 18:1-6) and read Isaiah 64:8 and Psalm 139:17-18.

Week 3: God cares when I feel ashamed. – Shame, guilt, and embarrassment are big feelings that take up space in our heart and don’t leave room for other feelings. This lesson teaches how Jesus came to remove sin and shame so it will no longer fill us up. Kids will learn about Ezekiel in exile from the book of Ezekiel and read Psalm 103:11-12 and Romans 8:38-39.

Week 4: Because God loves me, I feel valued. – This lesson teaches that our value is based on the eternal, unchanging love of God, not our anything on earth. We measure ourselves by what God thinks about us. Kids will learn about Ezra and Nehemiah and read Ephesians 3:18-19 and Romans 8:1-2.

See a preview of week 1 here.

Each lesson includes:

  • Pre-service activity
  • Service Intro
  • Object Lesson
  • Scripture Teaching Time
  • Prayer Response
  • Easy Craft
  • Games and Activity Printables
  • Editable Word documents of full lessons
  • 70+ minutes worth of material in each lesson

This download includes:

  • Series Overview Guide (PDF)
  • 4 lessons on big emotions with (.docx)
  • All necessary printables including Feelings Feedback Questions, Word Searches, craft printables, game printables, Hidden Feelings Search, Illustrate the Story, and more (PDF)
  • Series Graphics + Weekly Graphics in 3 sizes (square, standard, and widescreen) (.jpg)

This product is a digital download, which means you will receive a link to download the files after completing the check-out process. Please note: It is too large of a file to view on a mobile device.

**Once your order is complete, you will receive an email with the downloadable resource. If the email does not come to your inbox, please check your spam/junk or promotions folder, as the email with your downloads will sometimes show up there instead of your inbox.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You must be logged in to apply and use DKM High Fives
49 High Fives – 98 High Fives in DKM High Five Club